Chase Robertson Scores Colors Edge 100 By Jim Snape

NewYork Sports Show


Bowman Gray Stadium, Winston Salem,N.C.

Saturday August 12,2023
Event #13-2023 Season.
The 1093rd event since the first race in 1949
   In the McDowell Heating & Air Sportsman Series eighteen year old Chase Robertson (Winston Salem, N.C.) raced to his 5th win of the 2023 season at the Bowman Gray Stadium.
   With the track temperature  reaching 125 degrees at race time you would expect the on track action to be hot and exciting and that’s what the fans got .
   Robertson started the event in the second row behind pole sitters Amber Lynn (Walkertown,N.C.) and Zack “Attack” Ore (Winston Salem,N.C.). Lynn ran out to the initial lead with Ore and then Sterling Plemmons (Winston Salem,N.C.) putting constant pressure on her while Robertson set a calculated pace keeping the leaders in sight.
   A lap 58 yellow flag changed the outlook of the event when race leader Lynn got taken into the first turn wall along with Tommy Neal (Rural Hall,N.C.), Austin Taylor (Winston Salem,N.C.) and Justin Taylor (King,N.C.). The incident allowed Roberson to drive by the carnedge and into the lead.
   On the restart it looked like nothing was going to stop Robertson except for a rain shower on lap 68. When racing resumed the Winston Salem resident sped away again with second place 15 year old Riley Neal trailing in the leaders tire tracks.
   By lap 79 Wesley Thompson (Advance,N/C.) raced by Neal and followed Robertson to the green, white , checkered finish. Behind Robertson and Thompson, Plemmons was third while Amber Lynn came back from her lap 58 accident to finish 4th. Micheal “The Earthmover” Adams (Yadkinville,N.C.) rounded out the top five.
Yellow Flags-(12),Laps-10-17-22-39-46-53-58-68-79-84-94-99
Red Flag-Lap58
Race Leaders-(2) #2-laps, 1-58  #31-laps,59-105
Finishing order

1   31-Chase Robertson

2   22-Wesley Thompson
3   03-Sterling Plemmons
4   2-Amber Lynn
5   19-Micheal Adams
6   38-Mitch Gales
7   55-Zack Ore
8   07-Riley Neal
9   24-A.J.Bernys
10 88-Chris Taylor
11  7-Connor Branch
12 28-Nate Gregg
13 15-T.Dawson
14 37-Chris Massie
15 98-Billy Gregg
16 21-Tommy Neal
17 51-Austin Taylor
18 12-Justin Taylor
19 54-Braden Mills
20  5-Spencer Martin
21  1-Nick Wall
Story: James Snape

Photos: Crystal Snape
  • Jim Snape

    I have een involved with racing for the past 6 decades, first with family racing on dirt in the northeast until 1970, then went asphalt racing with two modified teams until the year 2000. I have worked with Jack Bateman's Modified Racing Series for 5 years doing media and interviews. After moving to North Carolina I got involved with the SMART Tour as media.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.